CAMPAIGN NEWS AND EVENTS

NEWS: The candidates for Town Council have completed the Sierra Club televised forum and personal interview, the questionnaire for the League of Women Voters, the questionnaire for NRG (Neighborhoods for Responsible Growth), the Chamber of Commerce questions and personal interview, the CFRG questionnaire and meet and greet, and the INDY questionnaire. If there is more, then I have been so busy I have just forgotten to acknowledge, so forgive me! This is a very busy season….

What is coming:

Wednesday night, Sept. 23rd at 7 p.m. is the NRG televised forum at Town Hall (Neighborhoods for Responsible Growth)
Thursday morning, Sept. 24 9am-12pm Friends of Downtown Forum
Saturday, Sept. 26 from 2-4 p.m. Umstead Park, Colonial Heights Precinct Forum
Monday, October 5 from 7-9 p.m. League of Women Voters Forum, Town Hall (and televised)
Wednesday, October 6, 6:30 p.m. WCHL /Chamber of Commerce Radio Forum
Sunday, October 11, 2:30 – 4 CURB forum at Larkspur neighborhood clubhouse (northern neighborhoods)
Thursday, October 15, 7 p.m. WCHL forum
Saturday, October 17 8 am Orange County Democrats Legislative Breakfast
Tuesday, October 20 at 3 p.m. Carol Woods forum

That’s the current list, however things may change or may be added, and I will update that as soon as I learn of
any changes.

My fundraising and spending and my campaign finance philosophy:
I was lucky enough to have several hundred dollars in my campaign account from last election in 2005, so I will be using that money to beef up my campaign sign stock and handouts with my platform. This election cycle I am respectfully declining contributions, and I am not intending to spend much, if any, of my personal funds. This election, for me, is about the issues, getting to know people I don’t already know and hear their concerns, and discussing my vision for the Town of Chapel Hill. The campaign, to me, is not about how much money I can raise or spend. While I’m not sure this method is possible on a regional, state or national level, I believe this can be done in Chapel Hill as an incumbent. I wholeheartedly support the Voter Owned Elections program, but chose not to participate because I do not feel I need the funds, and I did not feel it appropriate for me to vote for a program that is funded by the Town, and then turn around and take those funds for myself. I feel the program definitely helps non-incumbent candidates and mayoral candidates (whose campaigns have historically been high dollar), and certainly levels the playing field. Last election cycle a candidate spent almost 20K of his own money on his campaign for a council seat, and I hope with this program out there, candidates are not scared off to run because they think a council campaign is so costly that they can’t afford to even begin. So when you see my campaign expense report come out at the end of the month, there won’t be much activity on it! I bought some signs and a button that I made myself by shrinking a picture of my sign and putting it on a piece of paper that I stuffed inside a “do it yourself” button. That’s it! I look forward to a positive, healthy, insightful campaign of the issues.

OTHER NEWS:
It appears that not all candidates for office are in agreement as to whether or not they would apply for the vacancy for Bill Strom’s seat. In fact, I only know of a couple of candidates that are interested. If that’s the case, then I believe the most democratic way to solve this dilemma is to have the new council in January make an appointment for the seat based on applications received by October 12. The citizens will have elected a council they want making decisions for the next several years, and part of that decision making will be made by the person that occupies Bill’s seat. The new council will be the one to work with that appointee for the next two years, not the current council. Those are my thoughts on this issue.

Comments are closed.